The brand new curler hockey Champions League begins with 5 Spaniards

Three years after Barça’s 7-1 win over Sarzana, on February 16, 2020, shortly earlier than the outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic, the best curler hockey competitors returns to the Palau Blaugrana. It is going to be tomorrow, Thursday (7:30 p.m.) with a Barça-Forte dei Marmi, the primary scheduled duel of the renewed Champions League, the brand new identify of the match organized by World Skate Europe (identify of the European Federation).

Three turbulent years

The pandemic left the 2020 version of the European League abandoned, the 2021 version was performed in an experimental bubble with 9 groups and the 2022 version with out the 12 splinters

In these three years, continental curler hockey has gone via a pandemic (which compelled the suspension of the 2020 version), a decreased version performed in a bubble with 9 groups (in Luso, which Sporting received) and a break with the 12 most golf equipment. highly effective (which made up the EHCA) with the hierarchy of the Federation, which led to a boycott of the 2022 version, decaffeinated, with second-level groups (formally received by the Italian Trissino).

a bitter cut up

Benfica, a ‘champion’ and not using a crown

The cut up of the 12 strongest entities of the European League grouped within the EHCA (European Hockey Membership Affiliation), which exploded in September 2021, crystallized within the creation, final 12 months, of a brand new unofficial Champions referred to as Golden Cup, on the event of the fiftieth anniversary of the Lyceum. The competitors started with the 12 strongest golf equipment on the continent: Barça, Reus, Caldes, Noia and Liceo from the OK Liga; the Portuguese Sporting, Benfica, Porto, Braga and Oliveirense; the French Saint Omer, and the Italian Barcelos. The winner was Benfica, though WS Europe doesn’t acknowledge it as European champion, neither unofficial nor official.

After months of attempting to create a brand new European League following its organizational standards, the European Hockey Membership Affiliation (EHCA) has agreed with the brand new managers of the European Federation for a extra aggressive match, with industrial and media potential.

The brand new Champions League is performed by 16 groups (in 4 teams of 4 groups), with the very best from every nation, who will play the common round-trip part, and a Remaining 8 (in Viana do Castelo, from Might 5 to 7 ) to which the primary two of every group could have entry. One of many particularities is that the matches are at all times performed on Thursday.

a star portray

Barça, Liceo, Noia, Reus and Calafell are joined by the Portuguese Benfica, Porto, Oliveirense, Barcelos, Valongo and Sporting

Barça and Deportivo Liceo take part within the OK League by full rights, and Reus, Noia and Calafell after passing a preliminary qualifying part.

The Portuguese groups might be Benfica, Porto, Sporting, Oliveirense, Valongo and Barcelos. The 16 members are accomplished by the Italians Forte dei Marmi, Sarzana, Trissino and Lodi; and the French Saint Omer.

The opening day, tomorrow Thursday, might be: Barça-Forte dei Marmi (7:30 p.m.) -in the return to the Palau de Marc Gual with the Italians-, Sporting-Barcelos (8:30 p.m.), Oliveirense-Liceo (9:00 p.m.), Benfica-Calafell (9:00 p.m. ), Sarzana-Noia (9:00 p.m.), Reus-Saint Omer (9:00 p.m.), Porto-Trissino (9:00 p.m.) and Lodi-Valongo (9:00 p.m.).

learn additionally

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *